Blogscars: Professionalism, Design, Creativity, and Classmate’s Blog

apple

THE SPRING 2014 BLOGSCAR AWARDS FOR CURRICULUM APPLICATIONS OF THE INTERNET

English Education students learn how to blog and tweet, and their hard work has paid off. 

     

The Blogscar for Professionalism goes to “Digital Storytelling in the Classroom: Promoting Deeper Thinking”

The blog post I chose for the “Professionalism” category is from April 6, “Digital Storytelling in the Classroom: Promoting Deeper Thinking”. This blog post is professional because it has different elements to it. These include: the description of my background with digital storytelling, how to use digital storytelling in the classroom, a resource link about digital storytelling for further explanation for my audience, and an example of digital storytelling that I found on YouTube. By describing my background with digital storytelling, I was able to be personable with my audience in order to relate to them. Whether or not they have had experience with digital storytelling since I have had hardly any and they are either at the point or were at that point. Since the blog post is focused for teaching, since I’ll be a future teacher and this is a teaching class, I related how digital storytelling is useful in a classroom. This way, other teachers or future teachers can see how this can be another learning tool to benefit their students. I further helped this by adding a link about how it is useful and operates in a classroom. Finally, I added another link with an example of a digital storytelling video. The example is about the book The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. I chose this example because it was my favorite book that I read in high school; therefore, since I read it in high school other high schools may have this book in their curriculum or something similar. By having a popular high school book, the post is even more directed towards teachers. In the end, this blog post is my most professional since I discuss a learning tool and a different approach to homework for high school English teachers, versus a reflective blog post about a unit in our class.

The Blogscar for Design goes to “‘Mini’ Digital Writing Project”

For the best “Design” category, I chose my blog post from April 6, “‘Mini’ Digital Writing Project”. My blog posts did pictures, except this one contained an infographic that I made. This week during class we made mini digital writing projects, so we could practice for our final digital writing project. Since I made an infographic, I had an image to add to my blog post; therefore, this blog post has design because the infographic adds to what I wrote for the post. To help make my infographic stand out and explain why it was there I explained what the infographic represents (which actually relates to my final digital writing project), a link to what an infographic is as an infographic, and a link to make one’s own infographic. The link I used also is a design metaphorically because the link explains what an infographic is as an infographic.

The Blogscar for Creative goes to “Blogging? Tweeting? I’ve only been used to Facebook”

My most “creative” blog post is “Blogging? Tweeting? I’ve only been used to Facebook” from February 1. First, the blog post is creative because of the title. The title raises questions and my familiarity with Internet publishing. After the title, my blog post goes into learning how to try something new. For this class, I got to experience using blogging and tweeting for the first time. This was a new experience. I thought blogging would be fine since I looked at is as responding to a short answer question on D2L or writing a weekly response to hand in for class; however, it was not the case for Twitter. I hardly make Facebook statuses, so writing Twitter posts seemed like something I could not do. Although, we had a structure for Twitter and this made it easier to compose a tweet. In the syllabus and in class discussion we were encouraged to include a resource link, a description, and a hashtag. The tweets are supposed to reflect education; therefore, I added a resource like about 50 ways to use Twitter in the classroom. Relating my resource link to how to use Twitter was creative because it was my first basis for creating structure to my tweets.

The Blogscar for Classmates Blog goes to “Embarrassed Emoji” by Katie Garcia

The best “Classmates Blog” was Katie’s. First, her title was intriguging, “Embarrassed Emoji”. She used two visuals, which were emojis making different faces. In her blog post she discussed her progress on her digital writing project. First, she reflected on the editing process. It is both exciting that one is almost done but also sad that one has to edit something he or she already finds good. Katie then offered insight to her piece by concisely writing using quotes, which led her to making her digital writing project. This dialogue was to the point in an engaging way since she was explaining that she was on a trip and decided to capture it in the shotgun seat of a car.

To end the Blogscars, here’s an idea for writing your best blog:

“What Makes Great Blogwriting?” offers insight as explained why each blog for each category. Basically, a good blog needs the writer’s voice to offer insight to his or her posting so the audience can learn and be interested in two different ways. The article goes over how a blog is a new and different form of writing so it should include the writer’s voice, be useful, be concise, be aware of the audience, and experiment with presenting blog posts.

 

One thought on “Blogscars: Professionalism, Design, Creativity, and Classmate’s Blog

  1. I really liked the link you provided at the end of your blog. That information will definitely come in handy if I decided to use blogs as a resource in the classroom. I also hadn’t done any blogging before this class, so I feel like any new information I can get the better I understand the process of and reason behind blogging.

Leave a Reply

